Gratitude Day 4

Day 4 of 30 Days of Tessism has me appreciating the beauty of letting go.

Gratitude:  Today, I am grateful for the ability to let go of places, people and things that don’t work for me.  It’s definitely a work in progress.  There are many instances when I’ve let go and still looked back, wondering if I’d made the right choice.  In those situations, I just have to trust that everything will work out.  What’s funny is that it always does.

Then there are those blessed circumstances where letting go is the most natural thing I could ever do.  Once done, I never look back or regret my choice.  When that happens, I know for sure that I am taking care of myself.  There is no strife or concern.  It isn’t a matter of “cutting anyone off”.  I had been long addicted to punitively excising people from my life.  After overcoming that tendency, I don’t take the severing of ties lightly.  The removal of relationships that don’t work is gift I give myself AND the other person.  It is as healthy as going to the gym or eating wholesome food.

The jobs I have recently left–leaving felt right.  The toxic friendships I released have left me less burdened.  I let go of comfort and the familiar to travel to Nigeria only to create comfort and familiarity there.  I can let go because I have all that I need right with me wherever I go.  For that, I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

