Patched

Built a man before.  To replace the flesh one who didn’t want me.  From scraps. Every
  touch,
    slick,
      memory,
        smell,
          video clip,
            thought,
              post,
                look,
                  breath.

All I could gather.

                  A kiss,
                a tweet,
              outburst,
            beignets,
          words,
        train stations,
      wings,
    smile,
  some saliva.
Problem was I couldn’t get him to stay either.

The patches wouldn’t live.

Tried to sneak pieces
into other men. Kiss me. This way.
Pull here. Soft there.  Didn’t work.

Even tailored myself wanting
to be what he wanted.

Sometimes I beg the real one for time
so I can collect more for my stitched one.

Don’t know who we are anymore.

Hunched, scouring. Snatched parts from me to add to my amalgam.
Real him didn’t recognize me because I was missing. Then I noticed, even he was made of bits.

24 thoughts on “Patched

  1. This is great! Something I see in it is how we’re always trying to get somewhere, can’t be content in our own skin. I’m thinking about what it’s like to have someone we always wanted and notice that even they are “made of bits.” Thank you for today’s Tessism.

  2. It is honest. We have all been this person/some of us are still this person. It is not something you escape or avoid; you live/learn through it. I really like this.

  3. Tessss! I’m in love with this poem. U are always so honest with your feelings and I know everyone can relate.

    “Tried to sneak pieces into other men. Kiss me. This way.
    Pull here. Soft there. Didn’t work. Even tailored myself wanting
    to be what he wanted. Sometimes I beg the real one for time
    so I can collect more for my stitched one. Don’t know who we are anymore.”

    XOXOX

Leave a Reply

