Gratitude Day 3

Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow. ~Melody Beattie

On Day 3 of 30 Days of Tessism, I just have to look to the near past to see what I’m grateful for.

Gratitude:  I am grateful to be on the other side of seemingly intractable situations in the past few years.  I remember being smack in the middle of a heartbreak that just would not end.  I would wake up every morning and wonder why that pain was still there.  At some point, I was sure that it would never end.  Then one day, it just did.  Something else came up and consumed my thoughts and then another and another.  And I was free.

Truly, “and this too shall pass” is real.  It just doesn’t alwaysnfeel that way.  I am grateful for all the impossibly unbearable trials I have overcome.  There is always another side.  Always somewhere else to walk.  Always another challenge that takes up heartspace.

What I realize is that even though the end may not seem anywhere near, it is there.  Instead of allowing myself to listlessly float on a sea of disappointment, I can choose to focus things that empower and delight me.

Letdowns will happen as long as I live but I don’t need to give them perpetual life by fixating on them.  I am grateful for the knowledge that adversity is the gatekeeper of victory, making it  that much sweeter!

Leave a Reply

