Gratitude Day 13

Day 13 of 30 Days of Tessism finds gratitude in doing nothing.

Gratitude:  Today I am grateful for the ability to sit still and let things solve themselves.  I don’t have to fix or think about anything.  Often the best way to deal with a situation is to keep calm.  Once the dust clears, you sometimes realize there’s not much you can do to change what already happened.  You can only use the lesson and move on.

Truly “and this too shall pass” is one of the most soothing things I can tell myself in a frustrating situation.  Everything passes.  Heartbreak does not have to be forever.  Embarrassment fades.  Most things fade.  So does life.  Instead of frantically trying to change what already is, I can apply some peace to it and see where that takes me.  This approach has worked wonders.

I’ve learned that my usual inclination to bulldoze my to a solution just brings more trouble.  So I’m grateful that I can simply “be still” and life will reward me with insight greater than what my knee-jerk reaction would give me.

Leave a Reply

