Just Keep Swimming

Remember that song from Finding Nemo? I can hear Ellen DeGeneres’ voice as Dory: Just keep swimming…in sweat.

Day 8 marks the beginning of the second week of my 101-day Bikram yoga challenge. To say that today was tough was an understatement. First, class was taught by Stephanie who cuts no corners to make Bikram yoga easier for you. She requires all that you’ve got every time. Your best may vary from day to day but she wants the best you can give her each time.

Today I was all out of sorts. Did I sleep enough? Did I sleep too much? Should I have had breakfast or refrained from food hours before? Oh that hurts. Am I going to get injured? Will she ever open that infernal door? Get me the hell out of here! What was I thinking?

With all of that raging inside of me, I managed to complete the class as peacefully as possible free from the outbursts bubbling up in my mind and my chest. Today I noticed even more how unbalanced I was and in more than just my body.

My mind was all over the place. I wanted it to be over already. I keep that hidden between my peaceful I-got-this yogi face while breathing in and out and a few grimaces of sorrow after some postures. I didn’t want to be there and I didn’t want to be anywhere else. It was a tough day more mentally than anything else.

It didn’t help that my unbalanced body has begun to protest. I wonder if I’m harming it or realigning it. I didn’t die the first 5 30-day challenges I did so I expect I’ll live through these. I welcome the healing and the realignment and breathe out the toxins and suffering. Here’s to 93 more glorious days!

2 thoughts on “Just Keep Swimming

Leave a Reply

