Seesaw

Some days are tough.  Some days seem easier.  Any day I stay in that hot room and make it to the end of a class, it’s a good day.  Apparently, so far I’ve had 26 good days.

Class 26 with Stephanie was intense.  Not sure if it was the higher temperature outside or lack of water or rest but class today was incredibly challenging.  Sweat didn’t just drip off my body onto the mat, it streamed off rapidly tapping out a machine gun staccato–the music to my yoga plight or joy, depending on how you look at it.

Just like that, the seesaw sunk down from my high yesterday and it was a struggle.  Not a painful struggle, just challenging in areas I did not expect.  I welcome ps and downs no matter how disorienting or uncomfortable because they reveal things about my practice in yoga and in life.  Opportunities for improvement show themselves and stick around, demanding attention, until they are taken.

Stephanie called for excellence as usual and we did our best to rise to the occasion and not succumb to the heat and humidity.  I did my best.  I feel that over the last few days, my triangle posture is improving.  I still have lots of work to do to get it up to snuff but lately it has been my personal best in this challenge.  Hitting a personal best makes the seesaw worth it!

Speaking of improving postures, Bikram Yoga East Harlem, has a cool two part posture clinic coming up on July 21 and August 4.  That will be a great opportunity to improve my practice exponentially.  I’ll do my best to make it.  If you’re in the area, come join me.  Read about it here.

Leave a Reply

