Opening Up

Day 54 with Angela rewarded me with opening up beyond what I expected. I came into class after battling dust bunnies (I won this time!) and my wiggy lower right back to contend with. All the cleaning activity actually served as a warm up for class–a good thing.

The highlight of class was getting into fixed firm completely. I have never been able to stand the intense stretching of that posture and while it was overwhelming today, I stayed in it. It felt great in spite of feeling like too much. It stretches ankles, knees, hips, lower back, upper back, shoulders, neck, arms–way too much going on at one time in my opinion but exactly what the doctor ordered.

I have another ambitious day in front of me tomorrow. I’m participating in Bikram Yoga East Harlem’s 3 hour posture clinic from 1-4pm. I’ll work for 3 hours, take class before the clinic to warm up, then go over the floor series for 3 hours in a warm room, and take class after to apply what I learned.

There may be room left in the clinic. If you’re in New York City, check it out. Read about it here. The last posture clinic was such a gift. There is nothing like going over each part of each asana and getting individualized corrections to take your practice to another level. I’m really looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

