Break of Dawn

Class 39 with Jennifer was a breakthrough. In all the days I have been practicing, I’ve never made it to a class earlier than 9am. I made it to the 6:30am class today. Woohoo!

I got there at 6:20am by the way. Getting to that early class was something I’d thought about as something nice to do…if I wasn’t me. You know, if I was a stronger, more disciplined person. That person could breeze her way through waking up at 5:30am and making it to class with ease. Not me.

Then I had to really think about the idea that I wasn’t disciplined. Considering that I’d already done 38 days straight of yoga classes, I don’t think I can say that I’m not disciplined. Going to class every day, not skipping a beat every day, staying in that hot room every day, following the dialogue every day, that takes something. I’d come to expect myself to make it to class that I’d begun to take the effort I put in to make that all happen, for granted.

Not anymore. I can do anything I put my mind to. If I want to take a 6:30am class, I can and I surely did. Let’s see how many more times I do that during this challenge. I have 62 more days to explore this.

Leave a Reply

